Scottish Arbitration Centre nominated for GAR Award

05 March 2024

The Scottish Arbitration Centre has been nominated by the Equal Representation in Arbitration Pledge leadership for the Global Arbitration Review ERA Pledge Award at the 2024 GAR Awards.

The nomination is for the Centre launching all-female initial panels of domestic and international arbitrators, in advance of moving to gender parity on the panels.

GAR is an arbitration news platform, providing its readers with updates five days a week, original surveys and annual reports, and in-depth coverage of issues that are being faced by the arbitration community. Every year GAR also hold the GAR Awards, which are awards to recognise exceptional achievement by individuals or firms in a range of topics.

Here is the full list of nominations for the 2024 GAR ERA Pledge Award:


      • New group for Indian Women in International Arbitration launches

      • Network for US-based arbitration practitioners with links to the Arab world launches

      • The launch of 1000 Paths to Arbitration, monthly videos on pursuing a career in arbitration 

      • ACICA launches diversity committee 

      • ERE Pledge Survey highlights expert witness gender gap 

      • Launch of the ERA Pledge in Saudi Arabia

      • The ICC International Court of Arbitration launches guide to disability inclusion in arbitration and alternative dispute resolution

      • A “grassroots network” for LGBTQIA+ people and allies in the arbitration community launches

      • Report urges new approach to arbitrator selection to limit bias 

      • Scottish Arbitration Centre launching all-female arbitrator panels in both domestic and international cases

    The Centre launched its own arbitration rules in September 2022, becoming the first Scottish administrative body offering administrative services with support from the Centre’s Registrar, Duncan Bagshaw, and under the oversight of the Court of the Scottish Arbitration Centre (COSAC).

    In May 2023, the Centre launched an initial panel of invited arbitrators, both domestic and international. The initial domestic (Scotland) panel is as follows:


        • Shona Frame

        • Janey Milligan

        • Susanne Tanner KC

        • Sheila Webster

      The initial international panel is as follows:


          • Chiann Bao, Singapore/Hong Kong

          • Juliet Blanch, England & Wales

          • Philippa Charles, England & Wales/Republic of Ireland

          • Anne K Hoffmann, UAE/Germany

          • Ndanga Kamau, The Netherlands/Kenya

          • Professor Dr Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler, Switzerland

          • Lindy Patterson KC, England & Wales/Scotland

          • Lucy Reed, USA

          • Patricia Saiz, Spain

          • Melanie Van Leeuwen, France/The Netherlands

          • Carita Wallgren-Lindholm, Finland

          • Galina Zukova, France/Latvia

        Lord Glennie, Chairman of the Board of the Centre, said:

        “I am delighted that the Centre has again been recognised by GAR and that our progressive approach has been endorsed by the ERA Pledge leadership.  For the Centre to be repeatedly listed amongst nominees by GAR at its prestigious awards ceremony illustrates our prominent position within the international arbitration community.  We continue to ensure Scotland and the Centre has a powerful voice on the international stage.”

        Andrew Mackenzie, CEO of the Centre, added:

        “In addition to our nomination for the GAR ERA Pledge Award, keynote speeches given at our new annual international arbitration event, the Edinburgh International Arbitration Festival (Arbfest2023), have also been nominated for GAR Awards.  Keynote speakers Justin D’Agostino MH, Global CEO of Herbert Smith Freehill, and Carita Wallgren-Lindholm, independent arbitrator, have also been recognised by GAR, demonstrating the high-quality nature of ArbFest2023.”

        The GAR Awards will be held in Paris on the 21 March 2024 during Paris Arbitration Week.

        Leave a Comment

        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *